webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

Filtrete™ Smart Air Privacy Policy

Effective Date: July 1, 2018

3M understands that privacy is important to you. Please read the following to learn more about how we use and disclose information collected through the Filtrete™ Smart App ("App") and paired Filtrete™ Smart Air Filters, including personal information. By using the App, you consent to the collection, use, and sharing of information as described in this Privacy Policy. This Privacy Policy is incorporated into and subject to our End User License Agreement.

webLoaded = "false"
  • About the Filtrete™ Smart App

    The Filtrete™ Smart App, along with the Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter(s) paired to it via Bluetooth, gathers information about the types of air filters you use, the air passing through those air filters, the life of those air filters, and information you choose to provide about your home. This allows the App to:

    • Recommend when to change your air filters;
    • Recommend types of air filters to buy and where to buy them; and
    • Provide you indoor air quality data, and, if you choose, outdoor air quality data.
  • What information does the App collect?

    The Filtrete™ Smart App collects the following types of information:

    • Information you give us, including information you provide us so we can identify you (such as your email address, password, name, and profile picture), which you can provide us directly in the App or when you log into the App via a social media or other third party account (such as your Facebook or Google account); information about your home that you choose to provide us when you create or update your profile (such as number of air filters in your home, the presence of pets or smokers, and whether anyone in your home has allergies or respiratory conditions). You give us this information when you provide it to us in the App. Please understand that if you choose not to provide all of the information requested by the App, the App may not be able to provide full functionality. For example, if you choose not to provide all of the optional information about your home requested by the App, the App may provide less precise information about the life of your Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter and outdoor air quality, and the App may provide tips and alerts less relevant to you and your home.
    • Sensor data, meaning data collected through the sensor on your Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter. Sensor data may include information about air pressure and temperature, filter type and size, and when a filter was paired with the App. Please understand that if you choose not to enable Bluetooth settings on your device, keep the App open in the background, or bring your device within range of the sensor-or if you otherwise choose not to provide all or some of the sensor data requested by the App by limiting certain data collection (if such options are offered)-the App may not be able to provide full functionality. For example, if you choose not to provide all of the sensor data requested by the App, the App may provide less precise information about the life of your Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter.
    • Location information, meaning precise real-time location information collected using your device's GPS technology, or postal code, if you choose to provide it. The App uses location information to provide you information about outdoor air quality and send relevant tips and alerts. Please note that we will NOT access precise location information from your device unless you grant the App permission to do so. If you choose to grant the App permission to access precise location information, we may also use that information to initiate communication with the Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter sensor when you are near your home to provide sensor data to the App more frequently and help provide more precise information about the life of your Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter. If you would like to receive outdoor air quality information without providing precise location information, you can provide your postal code to receive outdoor air quality information for your postal code. Please note that, if you do not provide your postal code or grant the App permission to access precise location information, the App may not provide relevant outdoor air quality information (unless you later add a location for outdoor air quality information).
    • Data from connected products or services, meaning data from other apps, products, or services that you choose to connect to the App (such as data from a paired indoor air quality monitor). We collect data from other apps, products, or services only with your permission, and you can revoke your permission at any time through the App, or by request by contacting us using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page. When you choose to connect an indoor air quality monitor, we collect information about the location of that monitor to identify it and to distinguish between monitors if multiple monitors are connected to the App.
    • Technical data, such as information about your usage of the App (e.g., features used, content viewed, dates and times of interactions) and technical data about your device, such as operating system, model, device identifier, and IP address. The App collects this technical data automatically when you download the App and as you use it.

    We may also collect information from you directly outside of the App if you provide it to us, for example, based on an inquiry you make associated with the App. In addition, we may collect information about you from third parties and combine it with the information we have collected from you.

  • Will 3M share any of the information it receives?

    3M may share any information it collects with:

    • Service providers or business partners who work on our behalf or partner with 3M to provide or improve the App or related products, services or events, provided that such service providers or business partners may not use any personal information we share with them for their own independent purposes
    • Our affiliates and subsidiaries
    • Other entities, to the extent that 3M has a good faith belief that such disclosure is necessary to (a) comply with law, regulatory requirement, judicial proceeding, court order, or other legal process served on us, (b) protect the safety, rights, or property of 3M, you, others or public welfare, or (c) detect, prevent, or respond to fraud, intellectual property infringement, violations of our End User License Agreement.

    We may also otherwise share information we collect with your permission.

    We may also sell, assign, lease, exchange, or publish your information in conjunction with a corporate sale, merger, dissolution, or acquisition of all or part of our assets, in which case, a surviving or acquiring company will be authorized to use your personal information subject to their own privacy policy.

    We may share aggregate or de-identified information (i.e., information that does not identify you personally) with third parties for any purpose.

  • How does 3M secure my information?

    3M takes steps to protect information collected through the App. Unfortunately, the Internet and any technical system cannot be guaranteed to be 100% secure or error-free, and we cannot ensure or warrant the security of any information you provide to us.

  • Where is this information processed?

    All information collected by the App will be processed in and subject to the laws of the United States, which, if you are not located in the United States, may not provide the same level of protection for your information as your home country. This information may be available to the United States government or its agencies under a lawful order made in the United States. In addition, we may transfer your information outside the United States to our affiliates, business partners, and service providers located in other countries. By using the App and providing us your information, you consent to such transfer of your information to, and processing of your information in, the United States and these other countries.

  • What choices do I have?

    You may choose not to install the App. You may choose not to provide certain information requested by the App. Please keep in mind that withholding this information may prevent the App from providing full functionality, as described above. You may choose to receive or stop push notifications at any time. "Push notifications" are messages that are sent to your mobile device to alert you about, for example, air quality or the life of your Filtrete™ Smart Air Filter, or to remind you to take certain actions. You can choose to turn push notifications on or off in the Settings of your device.

    Through the App, you may access, and in some cases, edit or delete certain information stored locally in the App. The information you can view and update may change as the App undergoes further development. If you have any questions about viewing or updating your information, please contact us using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page.

    If you choose to receive marketing communications from us, you may opt out of receiving marketing emails by using the unsubscribe information available in any marketing email, or you may submit a request using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page. Please note that you will continue to receive non-promotional email messages regarding programs or events you have registered for or certain administrative, technical, or safety notices about the App or our products or services.

  • Children's Information

    This App is not directed to or intended for use by children under the age of 13. We will not knowingly collect information from children under the age of 13. If you become aware that a child under your care has provided us with information without your consent, please contact us using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page.

  • Links to Other Websites or Third Party Services

    The App may contain links to external websites or third party services (such as retailer websites). We are not responsible for the privacy policies and/or practices on websites or third party services that may be accessed through these links. When following a link to another website or third party service, you should read the privacy policy for that website or service.

  • Data Retention and Deletion

    We will retain your information for our legitimate business purposes, such as to maintain your account and to comply with our legal obligations, resolve disputes, and enforce our agreements. We also may retain and use any aggregate or de-identified information (i.e., information that does not identify you personally) for any purpose.

    If you no longer wish to use the App and wish to deactivate or delete your account, please delete the App and contact us using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page.

  • Changes to this Privacy Policy

    When we make changes to the Privacy Policy, we will post an updated Policy on this page and change the effective date listed at the top of the Policy.

  • Questions or Concerns?

    If you have any questions or concerns regarding the topics addressed in this Privacy Policy, please contact us using one of the methods on the Filtrete.ca support page.

webLoaded = "false" Loadclientside=No

Politique de confidentialité de l’application FiltreteMC Smart de 3M(MC)

Date de prise d’effet : 1er juillet 2018

3M comprend l’importance que vous accordez à la protection de votre vie privée. Veuillez lire ce qui suit pour savoir comment nous utilisons et communiquons les renseignements recueillis au moyen de l’application FiltreteMC Smart (« application ») couplée aux filtres à air FiltreteMC Smart, notamment les renseignements personnels. En utilisant l’application, vous consentez à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la communication de renseignements, conformément à ce qui est indiqué dans la présente Politique de confidentialité. La présente Politique de confidentialité est comprise dans notre contrat de licence d’utilisateur final, et elle y est assujettie.

webLoaded = "false"
  • Quels renseignements l’application recueille-t-elle?

    L’application Filtrete(MC) Smart recueille les types de renseignements suivants :

    • Les renseignements que vous nous fournissez, y compris ceux servant à vous identifier (ex. : adresse courriel, mot de passe, nom, photo de profil), que vous pouvez nous fournir directement dans l’application ou lorsque vous vous y connectez par l’intermédiaire d’un média social ou d’une autre plateforme tierce (ex. : compte Facebook ou Google); les renseignements sur votre domicile que vous choisissez de nous fournir lorsque vous créez ou modifiez votre profil (ex. : nombre de filtres à air dans votre domicile, présence d’animaux ou de fumeurs, allergies ou maladies respiratoires des occupants). Vous nous donnez ces renseignements en nous les fournissant dans l’application. Soyez avisé que vous ne pourrez peut-être pas utiliser toutes les fonctionnalités de l’application si vous n’entrez pas tous les renseignements demandés. Par exemple, si vous ne fournissez pas tous les renseignements facultatifs sur votre domicile, l’application pourrait ne pas pouvoir établir avec précision la durée de vie de votre filtre à air Filtrete(MC) Smart et la qualité de l’air extérieur, et ses conseils et alertes pourraient ne pas s’appliquer de manière optimale à vous et à votre domicile.
    • Les données du capteursoit les données recueillies par le capteur de votre filtre à air Filtrete(MC) Smart. Les données du capteur peuvent comprendre des renseignements sur la pression et la température de l’air, le type de filtre, ses dimensions, et le moment où le filtre a été couplé à l’application. Soyez avisé que vous ne pourrez peut-être pas utiliser toutes les fonctionnalités de l’application si vous n’activez pas le Bluetooth sur votre appareil, si l’application ne s’exécute pas en arrière-plan, si votre appareil est hors de portée du capteur ou si vous choisissez de ne pas fournir toutes les données demandées par l’application en limitant la collecte de certaines données (s’il vous est possible de le faire). Par exemple, si vous ne fournissez pas toutes les données du capteur, l’application pourrait ne pas pouvoir établir avec précision la durée de vie de votre filtre à air Filtrete(MC) Smart.
    • Les données de localisation, soit les données de localisation précise en temps réel fournies par le GPS de votre appareil, ou votre code postal, si vous choisissez de nous en faire part. L’application utilise les données de localisation pour vous informer sur la qualité de l’air extérieur et vous transmettre des alertes et conseils pertinents. Veuillez noter que nous n’accéderons PAS aux données de localisation précise de votre appareil à moins que vous autorisiez l’application à le faire. Si vous autorisez l’application à accéder aux données de localisation précise, nous pouvons aussi utiliser ces renseignements pour établir la communication avec le capteur du filtre à air Filtrete(MC) lorsque vous êtes à proximité de votre domicile afin de transmettre plus fréquemment les données du capteur à l’application et ainsi mieux déterminer la durée de vie de votre filtre à air Filtrete(MC) Smart. Si vous souhaitez obtenir des renseignements sur la qualité de l’air extérieur sans fournir de données de localisation précise, vous pouvez nous faire part de votre code postal. Les renseignements porteront alors sur le secteur associé au code. Veuillez noter que si vous ne fournissez pas votre code postal ou n’autorisez pas l’application à accéder à vos données de localisation précise, les renseignements sur la qualité de l’air extérieur pourraient ne pas être pertinents (à moins que vous ajoutiez plus tard un emplacement).
    • Les données de produits ou services connectés• Les données de produits ou services connectés, soit les données d’autres applications, produits ou services que vous choisissez de connecter à l’application (ex. : données d’un appareil de surveillance de la qualité de l’air intérieur couplé). Nous recueillons des données d’autres applications, produits ou services seulement si vous nous le permettez, et vous pouvez retirer l’autorisation en tout temps dans l’application ou par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca. Lorsque vous décidez de connecter un appareil de surveillance de la qualité de l’air intérieur, nous recueillons des renseignements sur l’emplacement de cet appareil afin de l’identifier et, le cas échéant, de le distinguer des autres appareils de surveillance connectés à l’application.
    • Les données techniques, comme les renseignements sur votre utilisation de l’application (fonctions utilisées, contenus consultés, dates et heures des interactions, etc.) et les données techniques sur votre appareil (système d’exploitation, modèle, identificateur de l’appareil, adresse IP, etc.). L’application recueille les données techniques automatiquement au moment du téléchargement et à chaque utilisation.

    Nous pouvons également recueillir des renseignements directement auprès de vous, sans passer par l’application, par exemple, si vous faites une demande de renseignements liée à l’application. En outre, nous pouvons recueillir des renseignements à votre sujet auprès de tiers et les combiner avec ceux que vous nous avez fournis.

  • 3M transmettra-t-elle les renseignements qu’elle reçoit?

    3M peut transmettre des renseignements aux entités suivantes :

    • Les fournisseurs de services ou partenaires commerciaux qui travaillent pour son compte ou s’associent à elle pour fournir ou améliorer l’application ou les produits, services ou événements connexes, pourvu que ces fournisseurs de services ou partenaires commerciaux n’utilisent pas les renseignements personnels à leurs propres fins;
    • Les membres du même groupe et les filiales;
    • D’autres entités, du moment que 3M croit sincèrement que la communication de ces renseignements est nécessaire pour : a) respecter les lois, exigences réglementaires, procédures judiciaires, ordonnances du tribunal ou autres actes de procédure qui lui sont signifiés; b) protéger sa sécurité, ses droits ou sa propriété, vous protéger, ou encore protéger les autres ou le bien commun; c) détecter ou prévenir la fraude et les violations de sa propriété intellectuelle ou de son contrat de licence d’utilisateur final, ou y réagir.

    Avec votre accord, nous pouvons communiquer autrement les renseignements que nous recueillons.

    De plus, nous pouvons vendre, céder, louer, échanger ou publier vos renseignements dans le cadre de la vente, de la fusion, de la dissolution ou de l’acquisition de tout ou partie de notre société, auquel cas l’acquéreur ou la société issue de l’opération sera autorisé à utiliser vos renseignements personnels conformément à sa propre politique de confidentialité.

    Nous pouvons en outre transmettre à des tiers, pour quelque raison que ce soit, des données agrégées ou dépersonnalisées (renseignements qui ne permettent pas de vous identifier personnellement).

  • Comment 3M protège-t-elle mes renseignements?

    3M prend des mesures pour protéger les renseignements recueillis au moyen de l’application. Malheureusement, comme il est impossible de garantir la sécurité absolue et l’absence totale d’erreurs sur Internet et dans tout système technique, nous ne pouvons pas garantir la protection de vos renseignements.

  • Où ces renseignements sont-ils traités?

    Tous les renseignements recueillis par l’application seront traités aux États-Unis et assujettis aux lois de ce pays, qui ne prévoient peut-être pas le même niveau de protection des renseignements que les lois de votre pays. Ces renseignements pourraient être mis à la disposition du gouvernement américain ou de ses organismes en vertu d’une ordonnance légale rendue aux États-Unis. En outre, nous pourrions transférer vos renseignements à l’extérieur des États-Unis aux membres du même groupe, à nos partenaires commerciaux et à nos fournisseurs de services situés dans d’autres pays. En utilisant l’application et en nous fournissant vos renseignements, vous consentez au transfert et au traitement de vos renseignements aux États-Unis et dans ces autres pays.

  • Quelles sont mes options?

    Vous pouvez choisir de ne pas installer l’application. Vous pouvez choisir de ne pas fournir certains renseignements demandés par l’application. Comme il est toutefois mentionné plus haut, si vous omettez de fournir ces renseignements, vous ne pourrez peut-être pas utiliser toutes les fonctionnalités de l’application. Vous pouvez choisir de recevoir ou d’interrompre les notifications poussées à tout moment. Les « notifications poussées » sont des messages envoyés à votre appareil mobile pour vous alerter, par exemple, de la qualité de l’air ou de la durée de vie de votre filtre à air Filtrete(MC) Smart, ou pour vous rappeler de faire certaines choses. Vous pouvez activer ou désactiver les notifications poussées dans les paramètres de votre appareil.

    Dans l’application, vous pouvez accéder à certaines données stockées localement dans celle-ci, et dans certains cas, les modifier ou les supprimer. L’information consultable et modifiable est susceptible de changer au fil des mises à jour de l’application. Si vous avez des questions sur la consultation ou la modification de vos renseignements, communiquez avec nous par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca.

    Si vous choisissez de recevoir nos courriels promotionnels, vous pouvez vous désinscrire en cliquant sur le lien à cet effet dans tout courriel promotionnel, ou par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca. Veuillez noter que vous continuerez de recevoir des courriels non promotionnels concernant les programmes et événements auxquels vous vous êtes inscrit ou certains avis administratifs, techniques ou de sécurité au sujet de l’application ou de nos produits ou services.

  • Renseignements fournis par des enfants

    L’application n’est pas destinée aux enfants de moins de 13 ans. Nous ne recueillerons pas sciemment de renseignements d’enfants de moins de 13 ans. Si vous constatez qu’un enfant à votre charge nous a fourni des renseignements sans votre consentement, communiquez avec nous par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca.

  • Liens vers d’autres sites Web ou des services tiers

    L’application peut contenir des liens vers des sites Web externes ou des services tiers (ex. : sites Web de détaillants). Nous ne sommes pas responsables des politiques de confidentialité et/ou des pratiques de ces sites Web ou services tiers. Lorsque vous cliquez sur un lien vers un autre site Web ou un service tiers, vous devriez lire la politique de confidentialité applicable.

  • Conservation et suppression des données

    Nous conserverons vos renseignements à des fins commerciales légitimes, notamment pour maintenir votre compte, respecter nos obligations légales, régler les différends et faire exécuter nos contrats. Nous pouvons en outre conserver et utiliser, pour quelque raison que ce soit, des données agrégées ou dépersonnalisées (renseignements qui ne permettent pas de vous identifier personnellement).

    Pour cesser d’utiliser l’application et désactiver ou supprimer votre compte, supprimez l’application et communiquez avec nous par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca.

  • À quoi sert l’application Filtrete(MC) Smart?

    L’application FiltreteMC Smart, couplée par Bluetooth aux filtres à air FiltreteMC Smart, recueille des renseignements sur les types de filtres à air que vous utilisez, l’air qui y circule, leur durée de vie, de même que toute information sur votre domicile que vous choisissez de fournir. L’application peut ainsi :

    • Indiquer quand changer les filtres;
    • Recommander les types de filtres à acheter et l’endroit où les acheter;
    • Fournir des données sur la qualité de l’air intérieur et, si vous le souhaitez, sur la qualité de l’air extérieur.
  • Modifications à la présente Politique de confidentialité

    Lorsque nous apportons des modifications à la Politique de confidentialité, nous publions la nouvelle version sur la présente page et modifions la date de prise d’effet figurant au haut de la Politique.

  • Questions ou préoccupations?

    Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations sur les thèmes abordés dans la présente Politique de confidentialité, communiquez avec nous par une des méthodes indiquées sur la page de soutien de Filtrete.ca.